Friendships Along The Way !!!

By Sarmishtha Sarkar
      Some relationships are so special. Their uniqueness revolves around the fact that they start as very formal or simple relations, but end up being lifetime friendships. My friendship with two people have been such. Hema Sharma and Penny Fugerson. They both have dance schools in USA; Nritya School of Dance and Gateway Dance Theatre respectively.
     I met Hema in 2002 when she invited me to do a workshop with her students. She was gracious enough to invite me without truly knowing my work or me as a person. But we clicked instantly! And since then have never looked back. She has been one of the most steadfast and inspiring presence in my life.
      It was through Hema that I met Penny. The very minute I met her I took to her ever smiling and warm personality! I later discovered her amazing creativity and boldness to venture into innovative areas in performing arts. She has been a steady influence in my life and has many a times egged me on to take up truly challenging projects!
hema-penny.jpg
From Left Penny, Sarmishtha Sarkar, Hema
       I am very happy to announce that both Hema and Penny will come in as guest writers for Trail of the Anklets!
     We look forward to reading about their lives and challenges and their passion for the arts!

Leave a comment